When a Subject is added they are automatically activated for 1 year. After a year, the Subject expires and is Archived. Archived Subjects are not shown in search unless Include Archived is enabled. Subjects may also be Archived if they are no longer active (i.e. have been removed from the team) but you want to retain their data rather than delete them. Activating a Subject consumes a license if it has been a year or more from their Activation date and does not do so if they were manually Archived and it has been less than a year.
Archiving a Subject
Select the Subject from the Subject list. The search box may be used to help locate them. Click the Edit Subject button in the top right corner.
On the Edit Subject screen click Archive. The Subject is now Archived.
Activating a Subject
Check Include Archived on the homepage and search for the Subject. Click the Edit Subject button.
Click Activate and the Subject will be activated.NOTE:if the Subject was initially Activated over a year ago, you will receive a prompt confirm this will consume a Subject Activation.